In just one recent year alone a total of 3,986 people died in large truck crashes. Seventeen percent of these deaths were truck occupants, 66 percent were occupants of cars and other passenger vehicles, and 16 percent were pedestrians, bicyclists or motorcyclists. Truck accidents are caused by a number of different things: speeding, fatigue because of failure to follow the federal regulations hours of service requirement, alcohol, drugs, texting, cell phone calls, careless driving, reckless driving, negligence, failing to obey traffic signals, and sometimes defective products.
We know a truck wreck can change your life. The resulting financial burden of huge medical bills and other expenses are a great burden on you and those you care love. Likewise, if someone you love is killed or injured in a car crash, the emotional and financial distress can be overwhelming. Let our attorneys help you get the money and support you deserve.
We have more than 40 years of experience representing clients who have been in car and truck accidents that resulted in significant disability and/or death. When we take on a case, we strive to understand the unique challenges presented in each case. We answer our clients’ questions and make sure their legal rights are protected. We have represented injured people who were injured in Wyoming or elsewhere and who live throughout the United States.
Truck Accident Law
Truck accident lawsuits are governed by both state and federal law. Truck drivers are required to follow Wyoming traffic laws. Truck drivers–and their companies–are also required to follow the rules and regulations set out by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.
How long do I have to file a case for a truck accident?
The amount of time you have to bring a case against a trucking company or its driver depends on many factors. If you or a loved one was injured, then in general in Wyoming you have four years from the date or injury to file the case. Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 1-3-105(a)(iv)(C). If your loved one was killed in Wyoming, then you only have two years from the date of the death.
It is important to note that many factors can change the amount of time you have to bring a case. For example, if any potential defendant is a state actor, then in Wyoming the injured person must file a notice of governmental claim within two (2) years of the date of the injury. Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 1-39-113(a). Other states’ laws vary.
If you or a loved one was involved in a truck accident, it is important to contact an attorney right away so that your time to bring a case does not run out.
What damages can be recovered in a truck accident case?
Under Wyoming law, damages can be awarded when a jury finds that the defendant’s negligence caused the injury or death. If the negligence of the trucking company or its driver caused personal injury, the potential damages include the following: (a) the pain, suffering, and emotional distress experienced as a result of the injuries and those reasonably probable to be experienced in the future; (b) disability and/or disfigurement; (c) loss of enjoyment of life and any loss of enjoyment of life reasonably probable to be experienced in the future; (d) loss of earnings and earning capacity; (e) medical expenses; and (f) caretaking. Click here to learn more about personal injury cases.
If the negligence of the trucking company or its driver caused a wrongful death, damages include both economic damages and non-economic damages. Economic damages are the amount of money each claimant has not or will not receive from the decedent’s earnings. Non-economic damages are the loss of probable future companionship, society and comfort. Click here to learn more about wrongful death cases.
How much insurance are trucking companies required to have?
Under Title 49, Section 387 of the United States Code of Federal Regulations, the insurance requirements for interstate trucks are determined based on weight and the classification of cargo. These requirements are as follows:
- A commercial truck with a gross weight of 10,000 pounds or more, carrying non-hazardous cargo, is required to have a minimum of $750,000 of liability insurance to cover injuries to people and damage to property.
- A commercial truck with a gross weight of 10,000 pounds or more, carrying HAZMAT (hazardous material), except for explosives, is required to have insurance coverage of $1,000,000.
- A commercial truck with a gross weight of 10,000 pounds, carrying HAZMAT cargo and/or explosives has to have $5,000,000 in coverage.
Should I contact an attorney about the truck accident?
Here’s the best advice we can give–contact an attorney. If you wait too long, you may lose the chance to bring any case at all.
The fact that you are reading this page means you have some questions that need to be answered. You might have a case–or you might not–but the only way to find out is the contact an attorney. Our contact form and information can be found here.